I made this a while back– in Spring to be exact- and it was another dress I failed to blog right away so I decided to rectify that today! For Easter I made Middle Daughter- Holly- the Derby dress by Christine Haynes.

Confession- I never would have bought this pattern just seeing it on the internet. I went to Christine’s last book signingย and lo and behold on a dress form was the SWEETEST little dress I had seen in a while. I HAD to have it for my girls -I asked and it was The Derby dress! So, I bought the pattern along with a copy of her new book. ๐Ÿ™‚

 

Derby Dress

 

 

The weekend I was at this book signing I stayed an extra day and went shopping with a group of fun sewing gals and found the perfect fabric for the dress. Can I say $2 a yard? At Angel Textiles? A super fab downtown LA fabric store Amity from Lolita patterns turned me on to. When I saw this pretty lavender floral print I KNEW it was going to be perfect for Holly’s Derby dress. ๐Ÿ˜€

There are so many things I like about this dress.ย But my favorite thing is it’s simplicity. Not just sewing it up but it looks like a perfect little spring/ summer dress. It has nice lines, a sweet neckline ruffle option and spaghetti straps! It has a thin tie belt that can be used… or not! Like I said… A pretty sweet dress. ๐Ÿ™‚

Derby Dress by Christine Haynes

I thought I was going to have trouble with those spaghetti straps but everything cooperated nicely. I suggest LOTS of pins when attaching the straps to the neckline. Pins can be your friends peeps!

IMG_8309

 

Derby Dress by Christine Haynes

See? I am pretty sure I did not make any mistakes with that front ruffle and neckline. ๐Ÿ˜€ If I can do it, I am pretty darn sure you can do it too! (As a matter of fact I think you should!)
HollyDerby5

When I was in LA a few trips back I picked up these adorable little “hands” I decided to use as “tags.” And I FINALLY remembered to use one! The next time I go to LA I am going to pick up a few more bags and do a giveaway… Because I think they are AWESOME!

 

IMG_8310

All in all, I think Derby is a delightfully sweet little dress. And Christine Haynes was a delightfully sweet person! I feel honored I got to meet her and enjoyed sewing up one of her designs.

Derby Dress by Christine Haynes

 

Derby Dress

 

Hope you enjoyed the DERBY dress! I did… ๐Ÿ™‚

In other news… I have made TWO Sewaholic patterns I need to blog… The Saltspring and Gabriola. Ohhh they are MARVELOUS on this SPOON shaped girl! Hardly ANY changes had to be made! Hopefully I will get some pics of those soon and be able to share… And tonight I am starting a round of “Nighttime Sewing.” I will be joining my cousin Kerrielee at 9 PM and sewing until we can’t sew anymore. I doubt it will be in to the wee hours of the morning because #1 we are not as young as we used to be and #2 I have to work in the morning. BUT I typically sew in the evening anyway. And Kerrielee, Mom to 6, pretty much has to sew after all the little ones are in bed or she is constantly interrupted. So we are going to give this a whirl and see what happens!

Take care and Happy Sewing!

Laurie xox

 

