Tags

, , , , , , ,

I am a little late on this post but Eldest Daughter (Kadi) likes PERFECT pictures. And she loved her latest dress so much she wanted to have them taken by a photographer friend. Now that I see the photos I am so in love with the dress AND the photos I am happy I waited. 🙂 A very SPECIAL thanks to Darnay Luckie of Darnay Luckie Photography for these beautiful images!

I made this dress for Easter. All 3 girls got a new dress for this occasion and getting them done on time was quite a challenge! Thankfully, by noon when we had to leave, all 3 dresses were complete! WHEW!

McCalls 6834

For Kadi we chose McCalls 6834. She loved the pleats and the whole look of the dress. The challenge came in finding a fabric she wanted to use. After several trips to JoAnns, she kept going back to this lovely piece of cotton voile I had picked up at Angels Textiles in Los Angeles. The fabric is so soft and drapey and oh so pretty I could not resist it! Not only that, I snapped it up for $2 a yard!! Now I wish I had purchased more! I think it has a vintage look with those roses and that pretty shade of blue.

The pattern called for more of a midweight fabric and I admit I was a bit worried how the pleats would turn out and how the general flow of the dress would work with the dress. But I really believe it worked beautifully! The iron was DEFINITELY my friend during the making of this garment! (Ack! I see a thread!)

McCalls 6834

The pattern piece’s are quite a few “panels” sewn together. If you take a look from the neckline to the hem- that is all one piece. No waistline and bodice/skirt pieces. Just the panels. Then the pleats! As a said, I was worried if they would hold but once I had them ironed up they looked AHHMAZING! (In my humble opinion!) I think the whole shape of the dress is very flattering because of those panels!

McCalls 6834

McCalls 6834

I did not match up my roses. To be honest I never even THOUGHT about matching up the roses until I was sitting here thinking about it and writing this post! I suppose I would have been extra ahhhmazing if I had done such a thing… but ah well. I did not think about it and I think the dress still looks great!

The dress did not have lining but this fine cotton was so fine I felt the need to line the dress. All I actually did was line the bodice fully to the waist area and tell her to wear a slip. But the other night I was thinking about this dress and decided I could actually attach a “slip skirt” to the bodice lining and then it would be completely wearable without a slip. DUH… Not sure why I did not think of this before. I will blame it on the midnight sewing! I seriously thought to myself, “Man, I am NOT going to line the skirt because I don’t want to do double pleats…” Uhhhhh- what was I thinking?

McCalls 6834

Now that I LOOK at the back of the dress I see my roses COULD have been placed better. But next time I will remember that detail! I was seriously cutting this out the night before Easter Sunday. It was one of THOSE nights!

I will definitely make this dress again. The only negative is ironing the pleats. YES… they will need to be ironed after every wash and wear. The fabric is just that kind of fabric. But honestly I think that 10-15 minutes in ironing time is well worth it. It is SUCH a pretty dress!

McCalls 6834

I will leave you with a bunch more photos… Cause I just can’t resist sharing them!

Happy Sewing!

xoxo Laurie

 

McCalls 6834

McCalls 6834

McCalls 6834

McCalls 6834

McCalls 6834

McCalls 6834

 

