Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

I have had a crazy few weeks! From Thanksgiving on I feel like I have been a busy girl! Which means I was very lacking in the sewing department. I only managed a few handmade gifts. I guess I need to start sooner! I did make a second Renfrew though. A 3/4 sleeve cowl necked one I wore to work and out for our Company Christmas party. (no pics yet!)

Then more craziness. I decided to do all of my shopping at night after the party and because the girls were actually still up I left everything in the car. Someone broke in and stole it all, including my coat and phone charger! 😦 Don’t leave things in cars! Not even in your own driveway!

Last Friday I went to Boise to see the Potato Bowl game with my brother and drink craft beer at 8 different breweries. (LOTS of fun) And then Christmas week my brother came here to San Diego where we enjoyed 75-80 degree weather and 11 more breweries.

Top5

I am back to “business as usual” now and thought I would attempt to post some of the Top Five of 2013 Gillian started so we could look back and look forward!

1. I made this dress for Holly, my middle daughter from vintage Simplicity 4432 for Fall for Cotton in September. I love the bright contemporary fabric in the full skirted dress (that I shortened a bit) and Holly loves it too. Wherever she wears it she gets compliments.FallForCotton

2. The By Hand London Anna Dress With a Twist. I made 3 of these this year, all in knit. And I have worn them all more than once. I love them. They are comfortable, flattering and the solid black one I made I dressed up last minute to wear to a Christmas party. They can be casual and dressy! This one is my blocked one because I was short on fabric! I wore it for my birthday lunch. 🙂

By Hand London Anna Dress

3. Simplicity 2250- The Millenium Falcon dress. I made this for Juliette. She loves it and she wears it which was quite a feat. Great fit, pretty fabric, and fully lined. 🙂Simplicity 22504. Jungle January robe and PJ’s. Animal print meets silky satin.I felt very decadent in these!

Jungle January

5. Hip Hop Pants. I have made many pairs of these. They started out for my eldest daughter Kadi who is a Hip Hop teacher/ choreographer/ dancer. She asked me to make her a cool pair of “harem” style pants so I did. And then she wanted 10 more pairs. And then people wanted to buy them. So I have just listed a few pairs on Etsy. I love them because they are pretty simple and look pretty darn cool if I do say so myself! Kadi does not wear them just for dance. She dresses them up with a pair of strappy heels and wears them out!

Hip Hop Pants

And that is my Top 5… I looked back and found I did not have that much to choose from and hope that in 2014 I will do better!

Laurie  xox

