Tags

, , , , , , , , , , ,

I made an Anna dress for Countryfest. AND Frocktober!… This is actually Anna #3 for me. I have to say I have more than gotten my moneys worth from this By Hand London pattern. And I can’t promise you this is my last… because I LOVE it just as much now as my first one.

Anna Dress #3

Anna Dress #3

I made this one in about 3 hours for Country Fest- a country music concert that features 5 artists/ bands and LOTS of people, food, alcohol and fun. I had gotten some snazzy new boots (I love birthdays) and wanted something other than boring old jeans to wear with them. An Anna dress with a thigh high slit seemed like it would fit the bill AGAIN! It would be comfortable, a little sexy and show off those boots!

I used a black polyester I had in my garage. I don’t now EXACTLY what type of fabric it is but it has raised embossed roses on it and is light weight enough to make a good maxi. (Too heavy of a jersey pulls the dress down when you make a maxi). The best thing about Anna #3 is I had to draft a new bodice. A size smaller. πŸ˜€ The length is a tad short I think but I used every inch of fabric so it will have to do.

By Hand London Anna Dress

As I was driving up to the rodeo grounds where the Fest was held I saw that 98% of the female attendees were wearing snug jeans or denim shorts and a plaid shirt. At first I thought I was sure gonna stand out. But then I decided I was comfy, happy, felt pretty darn cool in my dress and wasn’t going to worry about it! And you know what? It was all good! I never once felt out of place. I actually felt pretty darn special.

Frankly you have all seen pics and read my previous Anna posts, so, I decided to share with you my Country Fest experience instead! (Ok- I also was having so much fun I neglected to take pics!) And if you have NOT seen my other Anna dresses you can see my Anna that broke all the rules here and my Anna with a twist here!

Holly and Earl

My middle daughter Holly and her boyfriend Earl attended too. I made Holly’s shirt dress out of a purple cotton plaid she liked that matched her hat. I even put pearl snaps on it! πŸ™‚ I used McCalls 6401. It’s a really cute pattern. Because I don’t have good detail pics (SORRY) I will just tell you the shoulders are gathered with a ribbon tie.

photo-46

That belt she is wearing was my mom’s when she was young. Pretty sure it dates back to 60 something!

photo-47

My friend Cheryle also attended with us and I made her a shirt in a nice Southwestern print cotton. Again, I used pearl button snaps. The pattern is Simplicity 1538. It is pretty much your basic button down L/S blouse pattern! She likes it enough she wants me to make more!

photo-45

Again I am sorry I did not take better pics of the clothing! But I was too busy taking these pics and listening to music. (And of course drinking a few beers!)

KSON Country Fest 2013

The artists that we heard were John Pardi, Jana Kramer, Aaron Lewis (of Staind), Uncle Kracker (Woo hoo!) and Josh Turner. Lots of fun and I can’t wait until next year! (All the artists listed are linked to one of their songs in case you want to check them out!)

photo-44

By the way- a year ago I hated country music. I am a Rock N Roll girl… I love Elvis, AC DC, Depeche Mode, practically everything 80’s, Frank Sinatra, and a whole lot more… PLUS I have a love for Alternative music as well- Blue October, System of a Down… and I sure love to listen to Beastie Boys too. But how I came to love Country music is a whole other story I will leave for another time. πŸ˜€ I guess I have eclectic taste in music!

photo-25

Take care ya’all… and Happy Sewing!

~Laurie xo

