Recently I left the sunny town of San Diego in my Toyota and drove up the entire state of California to Medford, Oregon. A little town about 45 minutes over the border. I LOVE to go to Oregon. My grandma lives there. My mom lives there. My Auntie Candy and Uncle Bill and more! I get to relax, visit, take walks in the country, eat lunch by the river, wine taste, drink martinis at the Eagles lodge with Candy and Mom, brewery hop, and just have an all around good time!

1174556_709432692407664_1764163498_n(1)

On this last trip I also brought my machine and sewed. My mother wanted me to make her a pair of pants. And of course when we went fabric shopping that pair of pants turned in to 2 pairs of pants and 2 mock turtle neck tops. And she liked the pants so much we went off to the fabric store again and bought more fabric. šŸ™‚

Momsclothes

Honestly, 4 fabric store trips in ONE week. (Didn’t want to miss anything you know!) and I ended making her 4 pairs of pants and 2 tops. And I changed the length of the 2 skirts I made for her last time! Alas, my mom does not like to model for me. Maybe some day… but for now, here are some so so pics of what I made… Followed by some wonderful pics of my vacation!

The pants are basic and comfy. I used an old New Look pattern I had laying around that I had not used. New Look 6499. She liked the look of that pant but wanted them to hit at her waist. I made a muslin out of an old nightgown and added 2 inches to the top. They fit great so off I went making a black cropped pair and the burgundy pair.

The top is Burda pattern 6990. It is a wonderful top, fit well, and has several variations. Overall some simple sewing for my mom that left her with some great clothes!

I don’t mind sewing for my mom. She buys me fabric and pays me too! Plus she puts me up, cooks me meals, takes me to lunch on the river and lets me eat dinner on the veranda every evening. šŸ™‚ We also drink wine together, went craft beer tasting, and drank some Cherry Moonshine. (Yikes!)

I will leave you with some pictures of my trip- because I would like to relive it again!

Road to Grandmas House

Road to Grandmas House

Deer at Grandmas

Deer at Grandmas

Just a portion of my moms gardens that she "built" herself in the middle of nowhere!

Just a portion of my moms gardens that she “built” herself in the middle of nowhere!

The neighbor has donkeys!

The neighbor has donkeys!

Beer tasting at The Walkabout Brewery!

Beer tasting at The Walkabout Brewery!

Wild Turkeys crossing the road

Wild Turkeys crossing the road

The horses we fed apples to on our walks!

The horses we fed apples to on our walks!

Lunch on the Rogue River at the Rogue River Lodge

Lunch on the Rogue River at the Rogue River Lodge

Sewing_mach

Gold Hill Museum- 2 of my fave things- Sewing machines and beer šŸ™‚

Antioch Cemetery- Stopped to visit Grandpa on his bday!

Antioch Cemetery- Stopped to visit Grandpa on his bday!

Couldn't resist climbing on the tractor at the winery in my Anna dress!

Couldn’t resist climbing on the tractor at the winery in my Anna dress!

Bye Bye Mom... Hope I will see you soon!

Bye Bye Mom… Hope I will see you soon!

And that was just a sampling of my trip!

I have my machine up again and am getting started on one of my Fall For Cotton Challenge dresses. I am making one for Holly and one for me. See ya soon with an update on Fall sewing and some new dresses!

Laurie xox

