Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Whew… I did it. I, Laurie, mother and sewist (somewhat) extraordinaire, finally made something Juliette, my youngest daughter likes and actually wore to school! She also wants a few more. After the Christmas dress debacle I have not made her anything. WELL- I DID make her a pair of hip hop pants WHICH she wears!

Jett_Clown

Juliette is a clown… and she LOVES the camera. Trust me… From the time she was a little girl she has enjoyed her picture taken. She is always posing and always looking in the mirror. One day a few years ago she flipped the visor mirror down and stated, “Quick mom, give me your phone. I look really good right now!” (Camera phone- her FAVE possession!)

Here are her Hip Hop pants– I need to make her more because she takes several classes a week and really likes these. These are like the animal print ones I made Kadi for Jungle January. No pattern but super simple!

JettHipHop

When I made her a dress for Christmas she dutifully wore it… once. You can see it all about it here. But at least she wore it! Since then I have dragged her in to the fabric store several times asking her WHAT she would like me to make her. And last week she picked several- including 2 swimsuit patterns. (YIKES)

Jett_Patterns

I immediately set about making this McCalls 6751…  McCalls 6751

Super simple. Super cute. She wants MORE! SUCCESS!

JettOrange1

This is quick and easy- one yard of fabric and a package of bias tape. I used a cotton but am going to try a knit as well.

JettOrangeTopDuo

I should have trimmed and pressed the keyhole opening better but other than that? I still feel I have reasons to celebrate… Isn’t the back great?! I plan on making her several for summer… and some shorts! And a sundress… and the (drum roll) swim suit, which I already have the fabric for (bright orange!)

I feel pretty good now! Summer wardrobe for Juliette is on it’s way!

If you look to the right- you will see that Kerrielee and I are doing GREAT on our 100 hours of sewing in the month of April pledge. I have a feeling we will BOTH make it and have lots of projects to share. Both of us started and finished an ENTIRE quilt already this month. We will photograph and blog those next week.

And our panty parade? Well, we are finally under way. I was having trouble figuring out the settings and what to do on my machine and was getting a bit frustrated but last night I finished a pair and finally worked out my process. I plan on making a few more tonight and we will blog about those as well. If you joined us, how are YOU doing??!!

That is all for now! Must get back to our machines to make the 100 hour mark!

Laurie

