Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

I finished up all of my “must make” list in March except for the navy slip. The slip did not make the cut because the Polka Dot Frock is still a little snug in the hips- so I don’t NEED the slip yet. 🙂 Sounds reasonable right?

So I finished the hip hop pants, the polka dot frock, the lavender skirt (still not photographed), some aprons, started on Bowie and Sew For Victory and WHEW… even squeezed in a Springy dress for Holly!

SpringDress

I LOVE this fabric. (Even though it has to be ironed) It is a floral cotton with a bit of stretch I bought from Fabric Mart in the dead of Winter. it was shipped to me in a box of dark knits and gabardines and brightened my mood as soon as I saw it. I LOVE florals… but I am starting to feel like I am too old for sweet, pretty florals. 😦 SO, it became a dress for Holly. I used Simplicity 3777, and made the short fluttery sleeved version.

HOlly_FloralInside

Because it is my new favorite thing to do, I french seamed the inside. I still have a little trouble french seaming gathered sleeves but seem to be getting the hang of it. Anyone have any tricks?

DSCF6987

I really like the gathered bodice. It is fully lined, along with the fluttery sleeves and the waistband.

DSCF6989

The dress was a happy success, and ready in time for Holly to wear on Easter Sunday. She loves it and she will happily add it to her wardrobe.

Currently I am working on the Archer shirt and joined the Archer Sew Along! It is really nice being walked through the finer points like sleeve plackets. My first one is in a black and white floral cotton voile. The fabric is so soft and beautiful to handle. I am hoping to have it finished by the weekend.  I already have an awesome idea for a second one I will be making from my stash. (Dressy and pretty and involves Challis!)

Kerrielee and I will also be sharing some of our “unmentionables.” Do you remember when I told you my youngest daughter, Juliette, hates the word panties? Well, apparently she hates the word “blouse” as well. Reminds her of Nacho Libre. LOL

~Laurie

