Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , ,

I know… I know… I should have posted days ago. But the holidays are here! And I am in Oregon visiting family! Having martini lunches and wine tasting! Visiting my Grandma and Mama and Aunts and Uncles… So, I will get right to it, so I can get back to enjoying my last few days!

DSCF6588

Christmas was wonderful… For me it is all about the family and being together- which this year I got in a big way. Being on a tight budget I decided to not spend anything- and just made a few gifts for all. The travel (gas is NOT cheap!) was our gift…

DSCF6604

For Christmas Eve we hopped on over to my Aunt Candy and Uncle Bills house… champagne and snacks abounded. And then back to my moms (where we are staying) for a lovely evening meal. Christmas morning we made brunch- popovers were on the menu which is one of our all time faves… and then to Uncle Ray and Aunt Annas for a prime rib Christmas dinner. Ahhh- the food!~ The fun!

My girls got all dolled up. I had made 2 of them dresses- and one wore a vintage dress we purchased on Ebay a while back. So- here they are in all their Holiday Splendor! (Juliette is NOT going to be happy- she hated her dress. 😦 )

Christmas2012_KadiVintage3First up- here is Kadi in the vintage dress. It is black velvet and has a tulle slip. I absolutely LOVE the scalloped neckline and want to recreate this. Isn’t the back divine?

Kadi_BackOfVintage

Holly wanted a green dress this year. I used Simplicity 2305- a Cynthia Rowley design. I love the sleeves… I love the crepe backed satin I used… I didn’t love the fit of the bodice. Holly is difficult to fit- she is sooo tiny. I am thinking of trying a petite pattern on her. The bodice is a little loose but she is happy and I am happy! I think if I do this again I will make the neckline a little less deep.

DSCF6552And Juliette’s dress- The ultimate fail- although when I get home I am going to try and save it. I waited until the last minute with this one. The fabric is GORGEOUS and one I thought would go well with her coloring. It is a gold and creme lame. I picked a simple pattern BUT it is home and I am here so I will have to add it later! What this dress REALLY needs is some fitting and a GOOD ironing on a low temp. The seams are pulling. SO – although I would only like to share my magnificent triumphs- I will share this dismal failure.

DSCF6579Yes- a good pressing and a little fitting and MAYBE she will wear it again.

Last but not least- here is Eleena’s Holiday finery. Kerrielee used a white cotton and although it is difficult to see there is red tulle peeking out.

Christmas2012_Eleena

Next year I get some holiday finery!! Selfish sewing in 2013!

Hope you all had a wonderful holiday! I am looking forward to getting home and getting my “sew on.”

xoxox ~Laurie

PS… Oh WINNER WINNER! Darlene is our winner! Please contact me with your mailing address and I will mail your lovely piece of chiffon. (sewexhausted@gmail.com) And thank you all for commenting and liking us on FB!)

