Tags

, , , , ,

Follow my blog with Bloglovin

I confess it took me a little longer to get back on my feet but here I am… feeling better thanks to my kidlets. My son came over Sunday, and joined my girlies in making me a meal, hanging out with me and cheering me up. Thanks kiddos. πŸ™‚ We got our tree decorated, stockings hung by the chimney, and the house decorated. I have super great kids and I am not just saying that. I really do! And they are funny and can make me laugh. We had no ladder to get the missing box of decorations out of the rafters so they decided to “stunt” Holly. StuntSuccess! The decorations were down in a flash. πŸ™‚

After the tree was all decorated I started helping my eldest daughter on the quilt she has decided to make for a friend for Christmas. It is African themed and we got it all cut last night.

Blog_Quilt_Africa1

We wanted to feature the lions but one of the most difficult things for me to do is choose a pattern based on fabric. I LIKE to pick a pattern and then get fabric but I confess it usually doesn’t work out that way because I fall in love with fabric and buy it and THEN have to go find a pattern (and more fabric to complete it!). She saw this quilt that I made a few years ago and decided it was the one she wanted to use. I don’t have any idea where this pattern came from so I had to measure everything- ah well, it kept me busy!

Chargers_Quilt

I am also deciding what to do with the top I messed up last weekend. My middle daughter Holly is tiny. She is 17 and I don’t think she even weighs 100 pounds. Well… I did the unthinkable and just cut the size I THOUGHT and merrily started sewing. I never even tried it on her until the entire body of the top, minus the sleeves, was finished. 😦 Oooops. It was HUGE! Gigantic! WAY to BIG. And the worst thing is I finished all the seams inside before even checking! So I stopped and am trying to decide what to do.

Blog-Blouse

And it is not like it could go to one of my other girls as it is a style and fabric only Holly would wear. I am wondering if I should just cut the seams off, re-cut where the sleeves go and baste it back up and then fit her. Or seam rip them all- which I dread- as I clean finished all the seams inside. Either that or it goes to the “maybe someday I will finish this for fun” pile… Guess I will make that decision later!

My work table...

For now, I have loaded my work table with way too many projects… Ummmm yeah- I took over the pool/ ping pong table and have made it my work table. πŸ™‚ I think I will re-organize it all before I go to bed- I have a few more projects I want to add! πŸ˜‰ Must keep busy!

Take care my friends. And happy sewing! -L

PS. While Holly was frolicking up in the rafters peeking in the totes she discovered one with (drum roll) fabric! Today I am getting a ladder so I can get it down and see what is inside! (Oh, the excitement!)

